CPA Goal Optimization best practice

What is CPA?

CPA stands for Cost Per Action and it is one of the most important KPI’s when optimizing a campaign.

This action can be– install, registration, subscription, etc.

The CPA goal represents the amount you are willing to pay for the action.

In order to send us your action please refer to our conversion tracking article here

Once you see your conversions in our platform you will also be able to effectively use CPA Goal & Start.io optimization towards your CPA Goal!

How to set it?

In campaign edit screen – under “budget & bid” section:

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How does it work?

Start.io optimization towards your CPA Goal is an estimating tool that tries to predict the chance for a conversion giving your expected CR.

This prediction is based on the data we accumulate for each source and campaign type – this means that new campaigns or new applications might need more time to accumulate the data and become more precise.

Your campaigns’ expected CR is calculated in this way: 1/(CPA Goal/CPC)*100.

For example – if you sent a CPC bid of $0.04 and a CPA Goal of $5 – this means you expect to get 1 conversion for every 125 clicks – the expected CR will be 0. 8%.

So, for this example, auto-optimization will not send you traffic from applications that have a predicted CR much higher than your expected CR of 0.8%.

Tips for running a campaign with Start.io auto-optimization

  • Allow the campaign to run for at least 3 days before adjusting the campaign bid
  • Aim for a minimum of 2,500 impressions—more would even be better

As the model continues to understand how your campaigns convert, optimization will improve and the gap between effective CPA and CPA Goal will narrow.

Important to remember!

When you set a high bid with a relatively low CPA goal, and auto-optimization is enabled, please keep in mind that if the expected CR is too high your campaign will not gain traffic at all.

In this case, we advise doing one of the 3 actions:

  1. Decrease your bid.
  2. Increase your CPA goal.
  3. Disable the auto-optimization – and keep close track of your campaign to prevent overspending with poor performance.